HSG Test…otherwise known as “Everyone Can See My Ute”

Yesterday was my HSG (Hysterosalpingogram).  An HSG is a test to check whether there are any blockages in the fallopian tubes. The RE will use a catheter to push dye into your uterus, and watch to make sure it flows through the fallopian tubes without any obstructions.  When the doctor told me about this, I immediately thought, “Well, that sound like much fun.”  And, of course, I was right.

The HSG was done at a surgery center.  I had to start a round of antibiotics (only three days’ worth, total) prior to the procedure, to prevent any infection.  So, two pills the day before, two the day of, and two the day after…nothing too terrible.  The doctor had also recommended that I take some OTC pain medicine (like Tylenol) prior to the procedure, as it could be “uncomfortable”.

And, while it wasn’t pleasant, it wasn’t the worst experience ever.  There was pressure and a small amount of cramping, but it was over before I knew it.  Plus, I got the added bonus of being able to watch the dye flow through my tubes while it was happening, so that really helped distract me too.  Plus, when I say it was quick, I mean it was QUICK!  From start of the test to finish, it was under 2 minutes.  Can’t really complain there!

So, the results were instantaneous.  Everything is fine, there are no blockages.  J and I are now officially diagnosed with “unexplained infertility,” which sort of sucks.  On one hand, I’m glad there’s nothing wrong.  On the other hand, if nothing is wrong, then there’s nothing to “fix”…and nothing to blame for why we’ve been trying so long with no success.  It’s such a mind game, infertility, and I hate it!

Going forward, the plan is to try a few more months naturally, to see if anything happens. Sometimes, even though there are no blockages, after an HSG is ran on a woman, they manage to get pregnant after the test. My RE is hoping I’m one of those lucky ladies. If nothing has happened by January, then the plan is to go back in to talk with the RE about medicated cycles and trying with an IUI. I’m hoping it doesn’t come to that, but I am glad that there’s a plan in place to work through things…I’m a planner by nature, so it helps me to feel a bit more comfortable with things. In the meantime, I’m just going to keep praying and trying to not get too worked up about things! Wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

