Getting Some Results, Finally.

Yesterday, we finally got our results back from the RE on the husband’s sperm analysis.  While some areas are lower than they’d like to see as “normal” levels, nothing is so bad that we can’t work with it.

The levels that are lower than the RE would like to see can hopefully be helped with the wash that the doctor can do prior to insemination, if we do an IUI.  I still have an HSG scheduled for myself on Monday, which will give us some more information on whether I have any blockages in my fallopian tubes.  If I do not have any blockages, the doctor initially talked of us trying a few more cycles on our own, to see if we get pregnant without any help.  He mentioned that, sometimes, just the HSG test is enough to sort of clean things up and improve changes of pregnancy without assistance.

Honestly, I’m not sure how I feel about that.  I feel like we’ve been doing the “wait and see” approach for 20 cycles now, and I’m tired of “waiting and seeing.”  I would like to do something extra to improve our chances…which probably just means that I’m ridiculously impatient, but there you have it.  I plan on speaking with the doctor on Monday to see if we can maybe do an un-medicated IUI cycle this month or next, and then considering fertility meds along with an IUI in 2015.  I just feel like I need to do MORE than what I’m doing now.

So, the good news is J’s results are ok.  Not great, but definitely workable, and I know he’s relieved that the problem doesn’t reside solely with him.  I don’t anticipate any blockages, so I feel like we will fall into the category of unexplained infertility.  I just continue to pray and hope that it all works out in the end.

4 thoughts on “Getting Some Results, Finally.

    1. Thanks for your comment! Yeah, we’re pretty good with the results at this point, but if nothing happens in the next month or so, we’ll definitely be pushing for more. Hopefully we’ll have a happy holiday surprise!

      Like

Leave a Reply

